Investing In Community Wellbeing

Hawaii Community Foundation
Year-End Giving Tax-Saving Ideas and Deadlines

 

Tax-Saving Ideas

There are many ways that you can make a year-end charitable gift in 2021 that offers tax advantages and can help you make a difference in our community. Here are some ideas to consider.

2021 Giving and Grant Recommendation Deadlines

Please review these 2021 deduction and grant deadlines, which can help ensure that your charitable gift will be applied to the 2021 tax year and your grants are received by Friday, Dec. 31, 2021.

    • Gifts of appreciated stock should be made by Thursday, Dec. 23, 2021. (If the stock is transferred by Friday, Dec. 31, 2021 it will qualify, but the earlier date decreases any unforeseen delays).
    • Checks sent via the U.S. Postal Service to HCF must be postmarked on or before Friday, Dec. 31, 2021.
    • Checks sent via carriers such as FedEx, UPS and DHL must be physically received at any HCF office on or before Friday, Dec. 31, 2021.
    • Wire transfers of cash must be initiated no later than Thursday, Dec. 23, 2021. (If the cash is wired by Friday, Dec. 31, 2021, it will qualify, but the earlier date decreases any unforeseen delays).
    • Credit card gifts handled online can be made on or before Friday, Dec. 31, 2021 at Give.
    • Grant recommendations should be made by Monday, Dec. 6, 2021 to ensure checks are received by the end of the year. Please do so by emailing your HCF contact on your respective island, or using My Giving Gateway.

If your gift is received after these deadlines, we will do our best assist you, but may not be able to guarantee that that it will apply to the 2021 tax year or that your grant is received by Friday, Dec. 31, 2021.

HCF will be closed on the following days:

  • Thursday, Dec. 23 at noon to Friday, Dec. 24.
  • Thursday, Dec. 30 at noon to Friday, Dec. 31.

 

Contact us!

For assistance, please contact any one of our staff here or here:

O‘ahu:

Darcie Yukimura, Vice President, Philanthropy, at dyukimura@hcf-hawaii.org or 808.566.5563
Kevin Rapp, Donor Advised Funds, at krapp@hcf-hawaii.org or 808.566.5552
Eric La‘a, Scholarships, at elaa@hcf-hawaii.org or 808.566.5557
Jen-L Lyman, Planned Giving, at JLyman@hcf-hawaii.org or 808.566.5596
Malia Peters, Catalyst Fund, at mpeters@hcf-hawaii.org or 808.566.5520

Kaua‘i:

Robin Pratt at rpratt@hcf-hawaii.org or 808.245.4585

Maui:

Inger Tully at itully@hcf-hawaii.org or 808.242.6184

Hawai‘i Island:

Malu Debus at mdebus@hcf-hawaii.org or 808.935.1206

Donor Services is also available to help you and can be reached at 808.566.5560 or donorservices@hcf-hawaii.org.